I want to live a fulfilling life

Throughout my teenage years, I struggled with social media.

It all started when I was 13 years old, and I just started to get into Facebook. (At the time, 2011-2012) it was very popular. I couldn’t stop checking it. I had to respond immediately to notifications, messages, and post frequently.

It was so entertaining to me, that I had better relationships through Facebook than ones in real life. After a while though, Facebook became less and less popular, and I now saw it as lame. So then I decided to get an Instagram. Another obsession began. I would constantly refresh the home page, post frequently, like photos, post, check, check, check. It was an endless cycle. I would spend a good 30-40 minutes every morning checking social media in bed.

Then came along Snapchat and Twitter. The same thing happened with those apps. At one point I would spend an hour every morning just checking these apps. And did I learn anything valuable? Sometimes. But what do you consider valuable? Edited selfies? Sunrise/sunset photos? Breakfast acai bowls? Okay, these are all pretty to look at, but am I gaining any detailed or valuable information from this?

Once I asked myself these questions, I realized the truth. I realized that I was wasting my life. Essena O’neill (although controversial because of some internet bullies by the names of Nina and Randa) showed me the way. She helped me realize that life shouldn’t be lived totally online. It is, of course, great to read blogposts and watch YouTube videos for fun, but what I do is try to make sure that I am gaining valuable information from it.

Now, I still have social media accounts like Tumblr, WordPress, and YouTube, but I try to limit my time so that I can live in real life.

And yes, I do play a ton of video games, and I’m working on that. I guess I don’t feel as bad because there are studies that (depending on the game) can actually be good for the brain. Just as long as there is problem solving and thinking involved. (My favorite types of games.)

I guess what I’m trying to say here is that you should give your mind a break once in a while. You will feel fresher and more alive. Ever since I started limiting my social media, I felt like I could finally breathe and not live like a social media-obsessed zombie.

I ask you to try this. See how it works for you. Limit your social media, narrow down who you follow to meaningful posts, and take eye breaks.

Trust me, I have terrible eyesight, and I guess this is karma for staring at screens for hours everyday for 4 years.

Thank you very much for reading.

Photo credit: here

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

2 thoughts on “I want to live a fulfilling life”

  1. I love this post so much. I had a tendency to check every single app a few months ago, obsessing over likes and notifications. I’ve calmed down a lot, trying to find the better things in life. Essena made great points about that as well, but the whole case with the donations was sketchy. Gosh there are so many bullies in the youtube vegan community though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Did you read the email that Essena wrote recently? She is currently donating the rest of the money. I believe that it was unfair for Nina and Randa to jump to conclusions. Also, on her website, she asked for donations in general. She said that this would be for her living situation as well. These people just pushed her too far, and now she is gone from the internet because of bullies. That is disgusting. She said she was also suicidal because of the bullying online. & yes, I agree. There are many vegan bullies! I am vegan, but I hate when I am represented by people like Durian Rider and Nina & Randa…

      Thank you for your comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.