Makeup is not the enemy

I made a post last year about why I don’t want to wear makeup anymore, and while I still mostly agree with it, I believe that there are some problems that need to be addressed.

First of all, I thought that “women need to be less insecure, and accept their flaws.” But later I realized that your face is not you. You can’t help being born with a certain face. I saw a comment once on a forum and the girl said that she wore makeup because her makeup suits her personality. Her face is not her.

I know this might sound kind of wrong, but I don’t blame women that are insecure about their faces. They are comparing their natural and bare face to perfectly made up celebrities. We can’t help what we look like naturally, so it’s okay to be insecure on your face…

The important thing is your personality. The only thing that can harm you is being insecure on you as a person, not your face.

It’s shallow and immature to feel insecure on your face when you can’t help it! Those crinkles when you smile? You can’t help that! The dark circles under your eyes? You can’t help that! There is no reason to feel insecure on that! It’s not YOU! You are what comes out of your mouth! You are your happiness, your feelings, your emotions!

Your face is just genetics! It has nothing to do with who you are as a person. It’s 2016. Women need to stop putting so much emphasis on insecurities. Wear two pounds of makeup, or no makeup. I don’t care. At the end of the day, it’s your personality that needs to shine.

I also wanted to say that I am SICK and TIRED of men stating that “Women are lying to them” and that “Women with makeup are fake.” First of all, we don’t wear makeup to impress you. I am shocked that in 2016, some men STILL believe that women are basically meant to live for them. WE DON’T WEAR MAKEUP FOR YOU. If we did things the way you wanted us to, we would be walking around in bikinis. Women are not things that are for you to view for pleasure.

I just wanted to clear that one up. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for reading.

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

7 thoughts on “Makeup is not the enemy”

  1. “I also wanted to say that I am SICK and TIRED of men stating that ‘Women are lying to them’ and that ‘Women with makeup are fake.’โ€

    People really say that? Ewwwww. There is so much wrong with that, from equating certain types of self-expression with deception (which is disturbingly reminiscent of some of the awful things that some men say about trans women being “deceptive” by being themselves) to thinking that men’s opinions are the important ones when it comes to women’s appearance.

    Like

    1. Men have said that to me numerous times, and one guy even called me a “fake liar” and a “narcissist.” What? I was in fits of laughter over that one.
      Boy or girl, everybody should be allowed to wear makeup without being shamed. I agree with your comment. Men are not important to a woman’s appearance unless she lets them.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.