I am a privileged woman

I was watching this TED talk about feminism, and the speaker said something that really made me realize that even though I’m a woman, I am still privileged.

He said that one time, while in his feminist group, he was overhearing a white woman and a black woman talk. The black woman asked the white woman, “When you look into the mirror, what do you see?” The white woman says, “I see a woman.” and the black woman says, “Well, see, this is where we are different. When I look into the mirror, I see a black woman. For me, race is visible.” and then the man overhearing the conversation said out loud, “Uh oh.” And the women asked him what was the matter. He said, “Well, when I look into the mirror, I see a person.”

Privilege is invisible to those who have it. When I thought about it, whenever I look into the mirror, I see a woman…

To clear things up, I am not fully white, (70%) but I still classify as a white American. This makes me privileged.

I want to say that even though I classify as a feminist, I am not just a feminist. I am an intersectional feminist. I care about white women, black women, Hispanic women, Asian women, transgender women, gay women, bi women, ALL WOMEN.

I find it a bit upsetting when feminists only seem to focus on the problems of white women. While this might not be obvious to them, it is to others. They subconsciously seem to forget about others.

For example, white women make more money than black women or Hispanic women. All women still make less money then men, but white women are still ahead of other minority women.

In the end, I wanted to say that I know that I’m privileged, but unlike some other privileged people, I will use my privilege to help fight for other minority groups, because they matter just as much as I do.

Thank you for reading.

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

6 thoughts on “I am a privileged woman”

  1. Yes, we white (as far as I know, 100% European white here) people tend to not be aware of the every day ways our privilege eases things for us. Or at least prevents things from being more difficult. I’ve experienced his even in countries where whites are the small minority. Colonialism, post colonialism and the media conspire to exalt white people and whiteness. At least there is now a term for it and a conversation about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.