Black Butler Review

So, I just finished Black Butler. I know it’s like super late, but better than never, right? This show is so spectacular that I just had to share my thoughts. First, if you haven’t heard of the famous anime Black Butler, here’s a little overview. Also, this show is on Netflix right now, so if you have Netflix, make sure to give this show a try.

Plot: This anime takes place in Victorian England, and the main protagonist is Ciel Phantomhive, and his butler, Sebastian Michaelis. Ciel Phantomhive is a 13 year old Lord (if I’m not mistaken) and both of his parents have been murdered in an accident involving fire. He signs a contract with a demon to get revenge on the murderers in exchange for his soul. The demon is none other than his butler, Sebastian. 

This anime is dark, supernatural, a little gory, dramatic, but funny as well. I have watched something of similar genre before. (Vampire Knight.) This genre is one of my favorites for anime.

I will admit, it’s a little boring the first 3-4 episodes, but trust me, it gets way better after that. If I hadn’t given it a full chance, I would have never known how good this show was.

~Characters~

Ciel_Phantomhive
The eye patch is not because he is blind in one eye, but because his right eye has a design that marks the contract between him and Sebastian.

Ciel Phantomhive: Ciel is blunt, a little rude, and cold, but rightly so. Both of his parents were murdered, after all. He wants nothing in his life but to get revenge. Once he does get revenge, he will have to give up his soul, thus ending his life. (Kind of sad.) Ciel is also very intelligent. He runs a toy company called Funtom. He also happens to be Queen Victoria’s “guard dog.” He helps solve crimes (like a detective) and reports his findings to the Queen. This proves how intelligent this kid is.

sebastian michaelis

Sebastian Michaelis: This butler is kind of mysterious. Because he’s a demon, he has incredible powers. He is incredibly strong, cunning, intelligent, and ruthless. He will do anything his master says because in the end, he wants his soul. Sebastian always knows how to pull through a tough situation, and he knows how to get what he wants.

grell sutcliff

Grim Reaper Grell Sutcliff: This dude is a grim reaper. Pretty self explanatory. He starts off as pretty evil, but later you see that’s he’s harmless. He’s very sassy, starry-eyed (for Sebastian), kind of heartless, and very strong as well.

lady elizabeth.jpg

Lady Elizabeth: Elizabeth or (Lizzie as Ciel calls her) is Ciel’s fiance. I’m pretty sure it was an arranged marriage, but nonetheless, both are in love with each other. (Ciel just has a hard time showing it.) Elizabeth is bubbly, sweet, but also kind of naive.

There are plenty of other characters, but those are just the ones that stuck out to me.

This show is kind of mature, (yes anime can be inappropriate.) So I would say that people 14 and up can watch this show. It deals with some adult topics such as murder, abortion, revenge, and it features tons of violence. However, don’t let that scare you. This is a show that’s about a young boy living in a harsh world, with harsh realities. It’s very interesting, and there are many funny parts as well.

Rating: This show has to be on my top favorite anime lists. I would definitely give this 5/5 stars.

I recommend this show to anybody looking for drama, supernatural beings, a little violence, and mystery. You never know the character’s ulterior motives on the surface, so it’s interesting to guess what they are really up to.

Thank you for reading!

 

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

9 thoughts on “Black Butler Review”

  1. I usually don’t watch anime, but since you think it’s good, I’ll try it out. I can handle “gory stuff” sometimes 😉 I’ll tell you how I like it when I’m done. Anyways, lovely post as usual!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve watched about three episodes so far, all of them are okay so far. I just can’t wait to get to the good episodes like you say! Anyways, I like the characters so far. Especially Sebastian 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.