I will reach for my dream

I think I finally discovered my true passion. I have always been fascinated on how the brain works and why and how people do things, and I have always admired psychologists, but it was only this year that I finally decided that I want to be one.

I know it will be hard, and it will take a lot of work, but it is something that I will do anything for. I want to diagnose and prescribe medication to people in need.

I might also become a forensic psychologist, which works with the law. A forensic psychologist diagnoses and analyzes criminals/suspects and decides if they are capable of committing a crime. It will be hard to deal with in times, and even sometimes my life may be in danger if I am analyzing a potentially very dangerous criminal, but I have weighed the pros and cons and decided that the pros outweigh the cons by a landslide for me.

If you know me, then you know that one of my favorite shows is Law and Order: Special Victims Unit, and so I have always been fascinated with the law. I used to want to be a lawyer, (since 5th grade) but now I realize that I can work with the law but still be in the medical field.

To become a psychologist, I did a bit of research, and I learned that you have to first obtain a bachelor’s degree, then a masters, and then a PHD or a PsyD. It will take around 8-9 years, which seems like a long time, but I will be a doctor after all.

I am very excited that I have finally found my true passion. I can’t wait to do research and studies on people and how they react to the world around them.I am only 17 but I can safely say that I am confident in my decision.

I guess now it’s time to work my butt off to get into college.

Thanks for reading.

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

7 thoughts on “I will reach for my dream”

  1. This is exactly what I originally wanted to do. If you read some of my posts you’ll probably get why lol. Don’t give up on this dream. It’s an amazing field and one I wish my life has afforded me the time for school to pursue. You can do it! You being young just means you could have that doctorate by 26-27 if you bust your ass. That’s how old I am now and I wish I had. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.