What to do when you are sick

Yesterday I caught a cold from school, and I haven’t gotten sick at all for almost a year and a half, so this is now a rare occasion for me. I used to get sick at least once or twice a month, and while it was sometimes caused by my dysmenorrhea (extreme cramps, vomiting, dizziness, lack of sleep, etc), I used to catch colds quite easily. Back then I had a weak immune system, which was mainly caused by meat and dairy.

Right now I have a cold, and yesterday I had a fever, so I am very weak and I feel very unproductive. But, my main priority is to get better, and here are some things that can help you cope with your sickness.

Play video games

I understand that you can’t always do this if you still have to go into work/school, but if you are staying home, video games are a great way to pass the time, and they make me feel a lot better. I would recommend playing calmer games though, such as Ori and the Blind Forest. If you aren’t into video games, maybe you could try some board games or games on your phone.

Read a book

Reading a book is a great way to stay calm and when you are sick, there is a lot of time to get caught up on the latest novel. I used to love to read, and I still do, but I have been mostly using my extra time to study Japanese.

Take a nap

This might be one of the more obvious ones, but with my cold, I have been getting severe headaches, and napping really helps, although I’ve had the same headache for about 20 hours… (Yes I have been drinking tons of water! It is ridiculous.)

(Binge) watch your favorite TV shows on Netflix

I love Netflix, and I’m sure you do too, so why not catch up on the latest TV show? I have been watching Black Butler (very intriguing and mysterious), My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic (don’t judge me, when I’m sick, I can’t focus on anything too complicated) New Girl, (it’s hilarious) and RDG. (Red Data Girl. This anime is beautiful! It’s like a Ghibli film.)

Write on your blog

One of the things that I’m doing right now, since I’m glued to the couch.

 

I hope that you found this list useful. This is just what I have been doing, and not everybody is the same, so different things help different people. Thank you for reading!

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

6 thoughts on “What to do when you are sick”

  1. Feel better!:) I always love reading what you write so yes I love this way as a good sick day pastime!

    Like

Comments are closed.