Being a Girl in the Gaming Community

I only just started gaming so I am no pro, but as I continued to get more interested in gaming, I also started to learn some new things.

I learned that sexism is very common in the gaming community. I mean, I always knew because I have heard stories of women being discriminated against just because of their gender, but I didn’t know it was this bad. These men will also resort to kitchen jokes and derogatory terms.

Some men just can’t accept the fact that a woman can be better than them. They assume that if she’s better, she’s either ugly and fat, or cheating. (Men can be ugly and fat or cheating too? Do they automatically assume that men can’t be ugly if they are gamers?) Also, when they insult women, they tend to go straight to their looks. It’s disgusting, but quite funny, because I know for a fact that as long as they have that attitude, they will stay single.

Why do these men want to make gaming so exclusive? Why can’t they let women be as good as them?

I believe that these sexist men are actually very insecure, and anything or anyone who threatens their manhood is automatically a “bitch,” or a “whore.” These are some of the terms that they call women in the gaming community.

This is pretty ironic considering they are the ones that call women “emotional” or “sensitive,” and then they get all butthurt when a woman is better than them…

Men can be equally sensitive (and I’m all for that) but when they deny it… Come on now. This is 2016. Men can cry and get upset too. They are *spoiler alert* human.

Also, just yesterday I was shopping with my mother to get some new clothes. I walked by a Microsoft kiosk and noticed that they were selling Xbox One games. I excitedly walked over and proceeded to take a look. The man working there kind of looked at me strangely, and so did the other men around me. They were shocked to see me interested in the games they had to offer. (Call of Duty: Black Ops III, Assassin’s Creed, Fallout 4) and in that moment I realized that I was the odd one out. I was the freak; the weird girl who is into gaming.

Another thing that bothers me is the amount of games that are targeted to men. Not just any games though. Games that exploit women. They use this tactic to lure men… and people actually buy it. For example, the ever so popular GTA 5 is incredibly sexist. In this game, women are mere objects for the men to enjoy. There are entire articles written on the sexism in that game, so if you are interested you could check it out.

Tomb Raider is one of the ONLY games out there (that I know of) with a strong female lead. And actually, when it first came out, Lara Croft had an unrealistic barbie-proportioned body. Only in 2013 and 2015 did the makers of the game finally tone it down.

Luckily, I haven’t experienced sexism in gaming yet, especially since I am new to gaming and not a lot of people know that I even play, so if anything happens, I will most likely write about it.

Thank you for reading, and if you have anything to add, make sure to leave them down below!

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

12 thoughts on “Being a Girl in the Gaming Community”

  1. There is enough room for everyone to enjoy the gaming experience, so sexism in the gaming community really baffles me. I’m not into games, but I know a number of female friends who really enjoy it. Happy gaming!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wonder if it’s a cultural thing. We have sexist pigs in Israel too, but being a girl who plays video games is a ticket to popularity. In fact, in any kind of nerddom, being a female is almost always an advantage – people are more interested in them because the scene is dominated by males. So they’re more interested in females because they’re more attractive and the odd one out.

    I do agree that the industry is male-dominated and tries mainly to target games. They commonly stick to masculine stereotypes, grimdark-n-serious-violent. Thank God for the indie scene though. It’s more diverse and more gender-neutral. Some people got scared it will ‘ruin creaitivity’, but all it gave us is Jazzpunk and FNAF, which are years ahead of Call of Duty.

    Men are terrible when it comes to women. We either become carpets to walk on, or sexist pigs.

    I wonder what you’ll think about a game like Neptunia. It obviously targets males, but at the same it’s dominated by females and doesn’t hide the femininity at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad that it’s that way in Israel, but it’s not in the U.S. When women share their hobby of gaming, she is immediately labelled an “attention seeker” because to them, she doesn’t REALLY like gaming, she just wants male attention. This is ridiculous. Video games are one of the best creations ever (in my opinion) so to me, I don’t care if I am the only female in the lobby playing black ops, I’m going to do it.

      I do have to disagree with you on one thing. Men are not terrible when it comes to women. If you are a carpet to walk on, you chose to be. You have a choice. There is no excuse. You also say “or they are sexist pigs,” first of all, that is an insult to pigs so I choose not to use that term anymore, and second of all, I don’t blame those men. They are insecure about their own lives and their masculinity is the only thing they feel like they can control.

      I’ve never heard of Neptunia. I’ll have to check it out sometime. Thank you for your comment!

      Like

  3. Yeah it’s pretty dumb. Also keep in mind, a lot of people like to troll online (for who knows what reason) but yeah a lot of people are just dumb lol. Also, definitely check out Mirror’s Edge (not 100% sure if it’s on the One yet but it was for 360). It’s like a first person parkour game and pretty much most the people in it are girls and it’s AWESOME. πŸ™‚ Also, Gears of War is pretty diverse in a neat way. My point is there’s a lot of games where the girls are just as strong as guys.

    Also did I hear someone say Black Ops 3? Add me, we should play sometime! GT: SpinTic

    Like

    1. There are trolls, but behind every troll is actually some part of the truth. I am happy to find people like you who celebrate women in gaming! It’s a great thing to see. I will check out Mirror’s Edge. I have heard that Gears of War is incredibly popular. I’ll check that out too. I did mention COD, but I was only saying that I wanted it (it was on the shelf kiosk) Sadly I haven’t gotten xbox live yet, but I will add you when I do! Thank you for your comment!! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I just played the demo yesterday! It was so interesting and fun to play. After playing it, I know for a fact that it’s going on my list. I’m glad that you enjoyed it! Thank you for your comment.

      Like

  4. Enjoyed reading this post Maritza. Yes, girls do face discrimination in online gaming community. I am not much of a gamer myself (at most have indulged in LAN gaming with my friends) so really don’t have a first hand information about this. But yes looking at other male dominant areas of life, I can guess how bad it can be in online gaming community.
    *But give a few of them a run for their money in those games, kick their butts and that will balance the scales, even if only a tiny bit. :)*

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.