Morning Thoughts

Today is a cloudy and quite chilly day in Oregon. Everything is still and calm. There are no cars, there are no leaf blowing-gardeners, and the only sound I can hear is the brief flow of the wind or the calming sound of geese flying south for the winter.

Days like this make me ponder life in general, and days like this make me appreciate what I have. I have an amazing family, and I live in a beautiful state. I am so glad that I moved here. Being in California was nice, but tiring, because the people were often negative and judgmental. (Including the old me!)

Everyone in Portland is unique, nice, and open. They aren’t afraid to tell you that they shop at Goodwill, they aren’t shy to show you their third tattoo that they got last Saturday, and they definitely aren’t afraid to give you a smile, even if you’re just a stranger walking by, down the street.

I feel like I’m in a place where I finally fit in. I can talk about my love for anime or video games without being stared at, I can wear dark purple-red lipstick and actually get compliments instead of whispers, and I can chat about veganism and the environment without being called a pretentious hipster.

I live in an area where they celebrate veganism, feminism, they fight for LGBT rights, and they accept everyone.

I am glad that I got to experience Portland. I will not be leaving it anytime soon.

 

Thanks for reading.

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

2 thoughts on “Morning Thoughts”

Comments are closed.