Living in the Present

I will admit, it’s hard not to think about things that happened in the past, or things that will happen in the future. That is something that most humans think about in our society. However, not only do we think about the past, we dwell on it, and let it take over our lives at times.

For example, something might have happened in the past to make you really angry, and you just couldn’t ever let it go. You dwell on it for months, years, maybe even decades. Sometimes, that memory can be so strong that you just never forget about it. The memory can be a good or a bad thing, or a bit of both. If somebody that you loved died, you might dwell on the past, thinking about their life and the memories that you shared together. It can be really heartbreaking to dwell on past memories.

It is not always so easy to forget about the past. A woman who is raped can almost never forget what happened to her. She can be traumatized, and scarred, and it is all because of that one memory.

However, I’m here to tell you that it’s okay to dwell on the past, but don’t let it take over your life. I cannot speak for men and women that are raped, and I cannot speak for somebody who is dealing with a death of a loved one, because honestly, I know how hard it is to forget about the past. But,  we must move on. We are humans, and we choose our emotions, however hard it may seem. We have the ability to move on, or live, stuck in the past.

We can choose to turn our lives around. We can choose to make a change! As much as I sometimes resent the human race, I will admit that we are quite powerful in that way. Humans can be brave, and honest. Humans can be strong, and pull through. We all have the ability to be who we want to be, so we must live in the present!

In the end, the present is all that you have. Every moment of every day is right in front of you, and we must grasp that time and use it wisely. Do not waste your life in the past or in the future.

I feel very upset seeing so many people so stressed and depressed and I just want to say this, so this is post is for the people who dwell on the past or future.

Thanks for reading.

 

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

13 thoughts on “Living in the Present”

  1. Inspiring, i love this, though hurtful, dwelling on the past wont help at all, best to look to the future. Thanks for writing this piece. I nominated you for the one lovely blog award, do check out my last post, and take as much time as you want should you choose to accept, if you don’t do awards, know that i love you still. muaaah.

    Like

    1. I did! Thank you very much. My heart is warmed to know that you enjoy my blog. It’s good to get some reassurance that my blog is doing some good in the world. I’m also glad that you liked this post! I wanted to inspire people to focus on what you have right now, not what you had or will have. It’s a Buddhist concept, but it applies to everyone! (As with most Buddhist teachings. The Buddha was wise and ever kind.)

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.