Sword Art Online Thoughts

Sword Art Online is incredibly popular anime  (and manga) and just a few weeks ago I finally finished it. It has 25 episodes that are each around 20 minutes long.

Right off the bat, I knew that I would love this anime, especially since it is fantasy based. (Fantasy is my favorite genre.)

 

 

Plot: This anime takes place in the future (2022 if I’m not mistaken) and is about a popular MMORPG game called Sword Art Online, which you play using NerveGear. The NerveGear fits around your head and takes over your senses, allowing you to feel, see, smell, and taste your surroundings or items in the game. It makes you feel as if you are really there. However, on the day of the game’s launch, everybody who logs on into SAO is unable to log out. The creator of the game keeps them captive, and the only way they can log out is if they complete all 50 levels of the game. It doesn’t seem that difficult, until the creator announces that anybody who dies in the game, dies in real life. It’s an intense action adventure that I love, and anything can happen. The anime focuses around the main character, Kirito, and his later best friend, Asuna.

Plot Rating: I think the plot is very intricate and creative. I haven’t seen something this creative in a long time, so for that, I give 5/5 stars.

Characters: I believe that the characters are very realistic. Asuna is not your typical anime girl. She is brave, strong, and arguably as good at fighting as Kirito. Regarding Kirito, he is a very realistic character, as well as a good role model.

Character Rating: I give 5/5 stars. The characters are very inspiring and just so lovable.

Ending: I am usually very picky about endings, and if it is not realistic or it doesn’t go the way I like, I will be incredibly disappointed. This anime however has exceeded my expectations. It is an ending that everybody will enjoy.

Ending Rating: 5/5. I just had to.

Overall, I recommend this anime to anybody, regardless of if you watch anime or not. If you have Netflix, it is there. Just make sure to watch the Japanese audio version! (The English one SUCKS!)

Thank you for reading, and if you watched this anime, please leave your thoughts below! 🙂

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

9 thoughts on “Sword Art Online Thoughts”

  1. I am definitely recommending this to my brother and husband who are obsessed with anime! I just messaged my brother!! Thanks so much!! I might even watch it if Scott’s here (he’s just left for work) and he wants to watch it together 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m an MMO player and found that SAO does a very poor job of depicting an MMO world. Kirito is well over powered and by the second half of SAO (ALO) Asuna got nerfed (made weak) to the ground. To me, SAO is very, very average. It’s okay that you’ve enjoyed it though :).

    Like

    1. Remember, SAO takes place in the future, and you are in the present, so no wonder it is different. I don’t believe Asuna was weak at all. She never once gave in to her perpetrator and stayed determined. She also escaped her prison and made it pretty far. To me, SAO is very, very above average. Thank you for reading my post, and I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy SAO as much as most people did!

      Like

      1. It will be interesting to read what you think of SAO II with III coming out this year. Technological advancements are being made i.e virtual reality devices, so in terms of catching up with SAO “futuristic” world is only a matter of time. And SAO still uses MMO mechanics and terms. Other than that I stand by with what I said about SAO and Asuna.

        Like

      2. Well, I am not sure if I want to watch the 2nd one. I might, if I have the time, but right now I am watching an anime called Noragami, which is very good so far. I don’t care if you disagree with me, but this is my review and this is my opinion. Have a nice day! 🙂

        Like

      3. Noragami is very enjoyable, if you want check out this; shirobako. it’s an anime based on an anime studio making an anime.

        Like

Comments are closed.