Excited and Scared

It is finally 2016. Can you believe it? I am excited to see what this new year will bring. However, now that it is 2016, for me, that means that I will be 18 in one year. It makes me nervous to think about, yet excited to see what the future will hold.

I don’t yet feel older, or even close to 18. In fact, if I’m being completely honest, I feel 14. I feel like I am still latched on tight to my family and parents, and I don’t quite know where to start.

There are very important things that they don’t teach you in school. They don’t teach you how to pay bills, get registered for a driver’s license, or to vote. In fact, it gives me anxiety to think that in one year, I will no longer be under my parent’s wing. I will be a legal adult. I can do anything (legal) without my parent’s permission. I can finally make my own decisions.

I’m sure many people are facing these choices and paths too, but I still can’t help but wonder what the future has in store for me. Will I be successful? Or will I become reliant on my parents until I’m 30?

I might be extremely dramatic, I’m not quite sure, and I might be just overreacting about this whole thing. In fact, to think this way is very unlike me. I usually focus on the present, but now that the new year has approached, I’ve finally come face to face with some harsh realities.

Which, I always knew were there, and I was always there to openly accept them, but I think it is very natural to worry. I will just make sure to be the best person that I can be, because I am capable.

This year, I will bring myself up as far as I can, and never put myself down. This year I will smile at my achievements, and be proud of what I accomplish. I will cheer others on that are going the same path as me, and try to help them, if I can.

I know that I am capable, and I know that I can make a change, even if it is minuscule.

This year, I want to contribute to this world. If that means donating or volunteering at an animal sanctuary, homeless shelter, or canned food drive, I will.

I want to be optimistic this year, and I want others to also.

Thank you very much for being with me on this journey of blogging and I hope you stick with me in 2016. Thank you for reading my posts. I hope you will enjoy my future posts.

What about you though? What will you do to make 2016 great? PLEASE leave them below! I would LOVE to hear them! πŸ™‚

(Also, if you would like to chat with me, I have a discussion page on my blog. There are numerous things that I would be happy to discuss. Everyone is welcome, as long as they are respectful.)

Happy New Year!

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

3 thoughts on “Excited and Scared”

  1. Your words ‘I want to be optimistic this year’ pretty much sum up my thoughts on 2016. Optimism with a helping of hard work and a dose of self-belief. Happy new year πŸ˜€

    Like

Comments are closed.