Why You Should Meditate

I’ve heard some people say that meditation is not for everyone, but I’d like to just disagree. I truly believe that everybody should meditate, regardless of religion, occupation, gender, social class, etc. We are all people, and we all need to give our minds a break.

Think about it this way. At every single waking hour of our entire lives, our brains are rapidly thinking and processing information. We are even thinking in our sleep (dreaming.) Our bodies may be resting, but our minds aren’t.

Why is this important? When your brain is constantly thinking, it can tend to work to hard, causing stress and anxiety. Meditation has been scientifically proven to reduce your stress and anxiety. Scientists have also noticed that a person who frequently meditates has more gray matter in their brain. How amazing is that?

I meditate to release stress, be in the moment, calm down and relax, and sometimes, to connect to God on a spiritual level. There are many benefits to meditation and many reasons to do it. Every time I feel angry or sad, I just meditate, and all of those negative feelings literally wash away. I feel like I just woke up, and I am at the start of my day again.

One of my favorite meditations is chakra meditation. (And no, it is not just for hippies.) Chakra meditation is a type of meditation that balances your chakras. You have seven chakras in your body, all serving different purposes, and when they are clouded with negative energy, they tend to produce negative affects on your life. No, you will not be perfect if you do this meditation, but it can create more positive energy that flows through your body.

Doing the chakra meditation was honestly one of the best experiences of my life. I don’t know what it was, but while meditating, I felt as if I was in a different dimension. I wasn’t sitting in my room, I was in the clouds, I was in space, I was one with the universe. I definitely recommend you try it. There are many guided chakra meditations on YouTube. At the end of the meditation, I opened my eyes, and for a moment, I had forgotten where I was. I felt like I was refreshed and vibrant. I don’t know if I’m being dramatic right now, but it was definitely a feeling that’s hard to describe.

Lastly, meditation made me a better person. Meditation taught me how to control my anger and sadness, and it continues to help me grow as a person.

Thank you for reading.

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

5 thoughts on “Why You Should Meditate”

  1. I started doing mindfulness meditation to help with my depression. I think it’s quite useful. It helps to center myself, to take a mini break from being busy busy busy, and it helps me deal with strong emotions, like anxiety. It’s hard to stay anxious when you relax and meditate and take deep breaths.

    Like

    1. That’s great. I find that a lot of people with depression/anxiety really benefit from meditation. That’s true. A lot of people think meditation is lame so I decided to write this post in hopes that more people will meditate. Thank you for your comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.