My Religious Journey

Today I wanted to make a post about religion (yet again.) This post was inspired by my good blogger friend creativenessnevergetsold.wordpress.com, otherwise known as Kaitlyn Rose. Her blog is great and she is a very talented writer.

I made a post similar to this a while ago (Titled Religion versus Spirituality) and I thought I might update this. I’m just going to put this out there that I am not religious to this day. These are just my experiences.

I (like Kaitlyn,) grew up in a religious family, though they were accepting if I chose not to be religious. I grew up thinking that I was Christian. I believed in God, prayed at meals (mostly), prayed to God at night, and joined the Christian club at school. I grew up basically Christian, though I didn’t exactly go to church all the time.

As I grew older, I prayed less, and basically stopped thinking about God totally. I still knew he was there, and I reached out to him in difficult times, but I wasn’t exactly religious. I noticed myself becoming stressed, depressed even. At this time I was a young teenage girl, lost, and trying to find her way. Somewhere she fit in.

I am thankful that my parents didn’t force me to go to a specific church, and I’m glad that they let me figure out religion on my own. They were a little biased, but not once did they force me to believe in a certain religion.

I later discovered Buddhism online, and decided to look into it. After researching, I decided to follow the Buddhist lifestyle. Many people think that Buddhism is a religion, and some, like the Chinese or Japanese, consider it a religion, but I follow The Buddha’s word, not the religion that believes in reincarnation, karma, etc. The Buddha’s main message was not religious at all. Like I have said, religion is when you believe in something, but Buddhism is not something to believe in. It is a philosophy.

So, after discovering Buddhism, and after some more researching, I became agnostic/atheist. I’m not exactly sure what I would call it, but I think the logical side of me took over, and said that God probably doesn’t exist. There is no proof, blah blah etc.

I think this is where God comes in. After a while of being atheist, I realized, I can’t act like this. I can’t pretend to believe in something I don’t, and I knew deep down that God was still with me. I guess I didn’t want to admit it, but I never truly took God out of my heart. (Cheesy alert)

It’s quite hard to explain how I can be so logical, and at the same time believe in God, but the answer is quite simple. My soul belongs with God, and since I am a very spiritual person, I felt my soul connect with God. Once I realized this, a huge cloud was lifted from my eyes (spiritually) and I felt alive.

I now want to discuss that I do not believe in the Christian god. Some people may be thinking that I follow Christianity, but I don’t. Obviously there is nothing wrong with Christianity, but like I said in another post, you don’t need religion to be happy. Atheist, Agnostic, spiritual, etc. All of these kinds of people can be equally as happy as Christians. The reason I wasn’t happy was because it wasn’t for me. I actually don’t believe you NEED God in your life to have a happy life. That is kind of offensive to atheists and non-believers if you ask me. Actually, many religious people can be very depressed, and religion may not truly help them.

Religion is very important to some, and the truth is because people want something that will always be there. Humans, money, and items are changing frequently, but a religion in your life stays the same. This is why religion is important to many. They have something to reach out to when there is nobody else, and they have something to rely on.

I don’t mean to offend religious people, but I am super happy without an organized religion. I feel as if I don’t have to conform to a certain set of guidelines, especially if I don’t truly believe in them, and I can be free in this life.

I don’t believe my God gets angry, gets sad, or upset. These are human emotions, and to me, God is not human, nor does he carry any human characteristics. God is a spirit, God is the universe. God is everywhere at the same time. God is in the trees, the wind, the rain.

I don’t believe in heaven or hell, and for a while I believed that there was only heaven because no one is truly evil. Something always made them that way, etc. But now I believe that there is no point in thinking endlessly on where we go. We will never truly know. It would be nice to have a heaven to go to when you die, but it seems superficial to me. I think that there is a possibility that there will be a land beyond Earth, where your soul reconnects with God and loved ones, but I’m not sure if that’s heaven. Heaven (to religious people) is a reward, and I’m not sure how or why humans would get this reward. What about animals? Where do they go?

I’m upset that humans seem to focus on themselves alone, and MANY religious people view animals as lower than us, (which is honestly disgusting,) but I can’t help that. Humans are humans. Selfish, greedy, and not trustworthy. Maybe that’s why I don’t think there’s a heaven. (No offense, humans don’t deserve it if they torture animals…)

I also get kind of angry when parents raise their children THEIR religion, without giving the child much choice. That child then gets the idea that this is the one TRUE religion, and that everyone else’s is wrong. They never get to experience other things for themselves, and kill me for saying this, but that’s probably why the largest religions have such a high population…

My main message that I want to convey is that I am happy being spiritual, and I wish more people were, but obviously I can’t do anything to change that.  I wish everyone would challenge themselves, challenge your religion, ask questions, and think to yourself why that is. Don’t blindly believe. Unless you want to stay in the dark. (Ignorance is bliss.)

These are my personal opinions, and I don’t mean to cause offense to anybody. I made this post for people who are struggling with religion or if you want to know about people like me, who are happy without an organized religion.

Thanks for reading.

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

3 thoughts on “My Religious Journey”

  1. The simple truth of it all is that all religions strive towards the same thing, but as human constructs fail to satisfy this search. We have souls that yearn for fulfilment, through love, and in many cases subscribing to a world religion only hinders us from reaching this. I am a deeply spiritual person, with a connection to my soul through love, and this helps me to help others in ways I wouldn’t even be able to think of myself. I am channel of love. Love is all that matters. Love is God. There are no further rules than this.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.