Why I no longer wear makeup

Don’t get me wrong, makeup can be a great thing. It can really transform your face, it can brighten your eyes, and it can make you appear awake and ready for the day. But when does makeup go too far?

Ever since I was 13, I wore makeup daily. As soon as I woke up in the morning, I would brush my teeth, and put my makeup on. What I didn’t realize is that I had perfect, soft, youthful skin! I had big eyes, I had shiny hair. But to society, I was just the girl in the background.

I never knew that I had pressures from society, and I convinced myself that I just liked putting it on as an art, but really, what was it for? Why did I enjoy putting it on?

Because I looked better afterwards.

Makeup went too far because I was obsessed with it. I was always buying the latest product, watching endless tutorials on YouTube, and always discussing it with my friends.

Whenever I wore makeup, I wasn’t myself. Sure, I got more attention from boys, but was it worth it?

What were they looking at? Me, or my makeup?

Finally, about a month ago, I decided to go makeup free. Part of the reason was that Essena O’neill opened my eyes, and part of it was because I wanted to not have to worry about my looks. I could finally focus on me.

In my experience, going makeup free has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. I still wear makeup occasionally, but NEVER because I feel pressured to. (I actually only use eyebrow powder and some lip product now.)

I also noticed that going makeup free has boosted my confidence amazingly! When you wear makeup daily, you tend to focus on all of your flaws that you naturally have, and cover them up, and when you take your makeup off at the end of the day, your real face looks worse than your makeup face. This is because you were comparing the two.

Once I got rid of makeup, I never compared myself. I also stopped comparing myself to other girls, especially if they were wearing layers and layers of makeup. And that’s not real.

I’m not trying to bash makeup lovers here, but I believe that we need to focus more on ourselves, instead of our looks. I find it kind of shameful that we have so many “beauty gurus” on YouTube who teach you how to look “perfect,” when deep down, we know that’s impossible.

I don’t think that people who wear makeup are fake, that’s not what I mean at all, but I just think that when it gets to the point that you NEED makeup, you need to step back and think about it.

We need to focus on ourselves, not our faces.

 

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

17 thoughts on “Why I no longer wear makeup”

Comments are closed.