Feminism: The Truth

 

I am sick and tired of the backlash that feminism is getting. People are saying that the new feminist is not actually a feminist, instead she/he is a “man hater.”

I’m sorry, but how does pointing out sexist comments/actions towards women being a man hater?

I am tired of the phrase, “Boys will be boys.”

I am tired of the insults, “You hit like a girl.”

I am tired of the catcalls, the whistles, the stares.

But most of all, I’m tired of men pretending like they are the real victims.

I understand that men are victims too, but refusing to look at the woman’s side when she has been discriminated against for thousands of years is just wrong.

Let me just throw in a few facts for you.

“1 out of every 6 American women has been the victim of an attempted or completed rape in her lifetime (14.8% completed rape; 2.8% attempted rape).1

17.7 million American women have been victims of attempted or completed rape.1

9 of every 10 rape victims were female in 2003.”

Now let’s see the male side.

“About 3% of American men — or 1 in 33 — have experienced an attempted or completed rape in their lifetime.1

  • From 1995-2010, 9% of rape and sexual assault victims were male.10
  • 2.78 million men in the U.S. have been victims of sexual assault or rape.1″

Now, I’m not saying that we shouldn’t care about men, but it’s the fact that men think that their sufferings are larger than a woman’s…

https://rainn.org/get-information/statistics/sexual-assault-victims

Without feminism, I wouldn’t be able to speak, learn, read, write, get a job, wear what I want, etc. If it wasn’t for feminists, I would be oppressed.

So for the females out there that disregard feminism, remember this, you wouldn’t be able to read this right now if it wasn’t for feminism. Those women that worked so hard to get you where you are today would be disregarded, and you’re being highly unappreciative for what they gave to you.

For the males out there, feminists (the real ones) do not hate you,  we just need your help. We need you to stand up for us, because after all, it was the male gender that was oppressing us. YOU are the ones that can stop it. You are the ones that can change it. Women still make only 78 cents for every dollar that you make, and you can change it!

Thanks for reading.

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

6 thoughts on “Feminism: The Truth”

      1. Yeah, I feel pretty bad, but now I’m trying not to stare. It reminds me of this one time when my sister was looking at some lady in a wheelchair for half a second, and she actually came over and scolded her for “staring” when she really wasn’t. I mean I felt bad, but she didn’t actually stare, so I think that lady was a little paranoid. We told my mom and she got really mad at the lady.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.