Climate Change. (Propaganda? Hoax? Reality?)

For a long time, I did not believe in climate change. I used to think, “The earth can’t possibly change. It will always be the same.” After educating myself through vigorous research, I now do believe in climate change. But there is a difference. There are two sides to this. One is that the earth is changing in weather patterns. The other side is that we (humans) are the cause for this. While I agree that humans play a huge part, I do not believe that we are the sole cause. It may be hard to believe, because this earth is so large and we are so “small,” our population is quickly rising.

earth

According to National Geographic’s “the knowledgebook,” we are a key cause to air pollution. “Human beings have scarcely taken environmental considerations into account over the course of their developmental history. With the industrial revolution, the use of coal energy- a key contributor to environmental pollution- rose enormously. Environmental damage has also been caused by waste from the chemical industry and increasing vehicle traffic.” And, according to http://www.windows2universe.org, air pollution includes greenhouse gases, which include carbon dioxide, which contributes to climate change. “Greenhouse gases cause global warming by trapping heat from the Sun in the Earth’s atmosphere.”

“Burning fossil fuels also produces the greenhouse gases carbon dioxide and methane. The release of these gases increases the Earth’s natural greenhouse effect, thus warming the atmosphere.” Says the knowledgebook.

This does not mean that I believe we are all going to explode and it’s going to be the end of the world, like some people do. However, that does not mean that I want people to sit aside and do nothing. We should try as best as we can to help this earth, and I believe that we need to invest in more renewable energy, because America is too high for their pollution and environmental destruction rates. The country that has the most pollution is China, and we are right behind them. I do not want our country to be as polluted as China!

I wish that America would invest in more renewable energy sources instead of nonrenewable sources (coal, oil, etc).

nature

We need to cherish this earth, and love the nature that was given to us.

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

2 thoughts on “Climate Change. (Propaganda? Hoax? Reality?)”

  1. One of the things I really hate about the discourse surrounding politically controversial areas of science (such as climate change and evolution), is all of this talk about ‘belief’. It’s plenty common to be asked if you ‘believe’ in climate change, or to hear someone say that evolution is ‘just a theory’. But we don’t use the word ‘belief’ when talking about non-controversial areas of science, such as gravity, or the germ theory of disease. Seriously, when was the last time someone asked you if you believe in gravity, or said that germs causing disease is ‘just a theory’?

    It would not surprise me one bit if climate change denialists were intentionally going out of their way to try to make the conversation about ‘belief’ (rather than hypotheses, evidence, theories, scientific studies, scientific consensus), to make their own position seem more legitimate. And it’s so common, that I think most people don’t even notice it, because that’s just the way that people (or the media) talk about things like evolution or global warming.

    Anyway, kudos on educating yourself on climate change. That’s awesome. I wish more people would do that. And I absolutely agree with you. We need to take care of our planet. I’d love to see more investment into research on economically viable clean energy. Personally, I think nuclear power plants would be cool, but I guess, in America, too many people are scared by all of the high profile accidents that have occurred (Chernobyl, Three Mile Island, Fukushima).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading. Now that you mention “believe” I think I will change the title. You’re right. Climate change is more than just a belief. It’s a fact. People are just too scared of change. Americans are also a huge part of pollution, and I think it’s just about denial. They don’t want to have to admit responsibility for their actions. Thank you for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.