My Thoughts on Religion

It is undeniable that religion is a big part of a lot of societies. It is a part of different cultures, and it shapes the way people act, speak, and learn. But when do we take religion too far? When is it okay to speak about religion and when is it not okay? I live in America, a country that is well known for being free to speak and practice any religion we please. But these doesn’t stop people from insulting others or disrespecting them time and time again.

Tons of Americans hold grudges against Muslim people, because of 9/11, Isis, etc, but do these Americans realize that not all Muslims are “evil”? You may disagree with their religious views, but do we have the right to attack Muslim Americans purely because we are prejudice against them?? This is where I’d draw the line. Some Americans take it too far. How do you think it feels to law abiding Muslim Americans to be ridiculed and shouted “terrorist” to simply from wearing a hijab? This, to me, is absurd. I always respect everyone, no matter their religion. It doesn’t matter whether I agree with them or not. It’s not for me to say.

On the same topic of being ridiculed, many atheists are judged and insulted all the time, even if they are respectful. They are attacked simply because they don’t agree, even if it is their given right as an American. Atheists will not change their mind and suddenly be Christian, Catholic, Mormon, Jewish, etc if you shout, “You are rejecting God! You are an evil person! You are a sinner and you are going to hell!” I’m sorry, but how can this possibly offend an atheist if they do not believe in your god or your hell? Just saying, it won’t help.

Also, another thing that I don’t quite understand is when people use religion to back up their statements, or make every decision. “I’ll do this because God wants me to.” I’m sorry, but God would want you to make your own decisions, and do what makes you happy, and that would make him happy. He would want you to appreciate the life that was given to you. Your life was his gift to you.

These are just my random thoughts that occur to me. I’d be curious to hear your opinions too! Feel free to write them in the comments.

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

36 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Religion”

  1. I fully agreed with you up until the final paragraph. God wants us to be happy, but we can’t be happy by doing what we want. We are corrupted by sin, and therefore what we want is corrupted. To be happy, to be truly happy, we must go to God and ask to be changed. And there is only one way to come to God. Through Christ His Son.

    Like

      1. Before I answer I want to say that I respect your opinions and I’m not attacking you or them, but I want to try and explain my view to you. Is that okay?

        Naturally people do whatever they feel like doing, but that doesn’t make it right. What makes something the ‘right thing to do’ is God saying that it is right.

        Yes, we are born into a world of choice, I agree with you. The choice presented to us is God or the world. “You cannot serve two masters” The Bible says.

        The Bible, as I’m sure you know, is God’s word to us. We are to follow what is says, not because we are uneducated or blind or indoctrinated or brainwashed, but because we love God, we trust God, we have faith in our God. So to understand how to get to God we have to read The Bible, and there we find that Christ proclaims “I am the way, the truth, and the life. None shall come unto the Father but by me.” This is clearly spelled out for us. Christ is not one of the ways to Heaven, He is THE way to Heaven.

        Those are my thoughts. How do you believe we go to God?

        Like

      2. My beliefs are quite different then yours. I do not think that you are attacking me. Don’t worry. I love to hear other people’s religious views and thoughts. However, I do not believe in hell. That does not mean that I think everyone deserves to go to heaven and “everyone gets the reward,” but it simply means that I believe people that are considered “evil” are not actually evil. There was always something that made them that way. Mental illness, psychological trauma, etc. this explains why murderers & rapists are capable of doing such horrible things. I do not believe in the Bible. Not because I don’t believe in God, but because I simply believe it was created by man. That is my belief. You may disagree, and I respect that. There is nothing that will make someone simply convert to Christianity/Catholicism etc just because a book tells them to. I believe that Jesus existed, and I am forever grateful to him. I just don’t think that he is the way to heaven. Honestly, I don’t know if there is a heaven. Maybe it’s a whole new world. We can’t answer these questions, and we never will be able to. But that the beauty of our minds. We have the never ending capacity to think up endless theories and beliefs about life after death. I respect your beliefs and I hope that you don’t think I’m attacking you. Thank you for your comment. It was very interesting.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. There’s a great consistency in the message of the Bible for a book written over thousands of years. That’s incredible to me!
        And even more amazingly there is the work of God in a Christian’s life; this effect is seen throughout history.
        God certainly is not against women. Men and women are equal. But homosexuality is wrong by the Bible and, so, by God. If you want the latter explained I will gladly do so πŸ™‚

        Like

      4. Well, I believe that regardless of whether God says that being gay is wrong, we should still respect and fight for them. We have no right to tell them that their life is wrong and that God doesn’t approve. (Especially if that’s not even their religion)That to me is where religion goes too far. I believe in human rights for everyone.Once again, I don’t believe in the bible, nor will I ever. I hope you respect my decision. Frankly, I get very offended when religious people try to say that their way is right and everyone else’s is wrong. Many wars have been started from religion, so I wouldn’t say that all of the messages are great. If Christianity is the one true religion, then why did God create people to be otherwise? I believe that he did this on purpose to show valuable lessons to others & I believe that no harm will come to someone who does not believe in God. We have no right to judge them. I found God through myself, and I will continue to do so, because so far, I feel great.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. We should treat all humans as equals, and animals with great care, but to agree with homosexuality would be to disagree with God. Remember that I don’t say it’s wrong, God does.
        I do respect your decision. It is yours to make, not mine πŸ™‚

        What do you mean when you say “people do be otherwise”?

        Like

      6. According to my belief, God created homosexuals. Otherwise, why do they exist? God has a plan for everyone, and God planned for them to be gay. He gave them a harder life, and they will have harder struggles, but they have the strength to pull through. I know this because I have seen it. Some of my closest friends are gay, and I know for a fact that they are not “denying” or disagreeing with God. They are doing what they were born to do. Plus, what right do religious people have to tell them otherwise? My God would never deny his children just because their love is different than yours.

        By “people to be otherwise” I was asking that if God created everyone, and Christianity is the one true religion, then why did he create people with different religions? Just a thought.

        Like

      7. God also created people who have a tendency to gossip, and those who struggle with their temper, but that doesn’t mean he’s saying that is right. This is a fallen, degraded world after all.
        They will have harder lives, but it is possible to fight these temptations. I know. I have faced these issues myself.

        If you read Ephesians 5 you will see the purpose of God’s creation of marriage. It does not allow for homosexuality. It can’t. It would destroy the image it is displaying. That of Christ and the Church.

        Again, this is not to do with people telling other people what to do. This is about understanding what God has said, and what he intends for us.

        God originally created one man and one woman. The Devil tempted them to leave God’s law. The Devil has continued that work throughout history. His deception has given rise to all the confusion we face today.

        I hope this doesn’t cause offence, because I know it’s a difficult topic to speak on – especially with the stance I hold!

        Like

      8. It actually is a matter of people telling people what to do, “fighting the temptations” is pretty much telling someone to just “push their feelings away.” God created humans, thus, he created the temptations. In fact, he created every single thought that goes through your head. You’re right, it doesn’t mean everything we do is right, but we cannot be “sin free.” I don’t think it works that way. Homosexuality is not just about marriage though, it is a deep connection of love. It is not the same as the love between a man and a woman, but it is still love, and I believe the sooner we respect that, the sooner we can move on and focus on more important things other than who a person is attracted to. That is personal.. None of our business. Once again, I don’t believe God says that. He created REPRODUCTION for man and woman, but LOVE for all. I do not believe that the “devil” has corrupted these perfectly innocent people. They have a mind of their own, that God created. If we can’t accept that, then that is our fault as a species. I am never offended. I have seen both sides, and I am always open to both sides, because if I wasn’t, wouldn’t that make me ignorant? I just believe that we need to respect others. That’s my main point. I always respect others, regardless of race, gender, religious beliefs, so why should sexual orientation be any different?

        Liked by 1 person

      9. This all comes down to where we draw our authority on God from. I go to the Bible for all that I believe, because I believe it to be God’s perfect word, given to us to understand his will, himself, and the only way of salvation – the gospel.

        Are you much of a reader?
        Could I suggest a couple of books for you to take a look at?

        Like

      10. I respect your beliefs, but I don’t believe in religion. I am not Christian, nor will I ever be. There is nothing wrong with Christians themselves, it just goes along with my personal beliefs. I can go more in depth in another post on that. Thank you for your comment though!

        Liked by 1 person

      11. Why is homosexuality wrong? I am Baptist Christian and I disagree. God gave us free will, so why can’t they be with the people they love? Sounds kinda mean to me.

        Liked by 1 person

      12. It does sound mean. That was exactly my reaction at first. I thought it was a medieval, knee-jerk reaction to a perfectly reasonable, loving relationship.
        But the reason behind it being wrong isn’t about love.
        What does The Bible mean to you?

        Like

      13. I read and I follow the Bible. I think gay people weren’t encouraged because we needed to plenish the Earth. You’re not a mean person, I just don’t see how people judge others for having relationships. The Bible means a lot to me, I try to find the hidden meanings behind everything.

        Liked by 1 person

      14. There is a book that expounds the verses to do with homosexuality in The Bible in a good way. It’s called Homosexuality: A Biblical View, and it’s by Greg Bansen. A link to a preview is here: http://www.ccel.us/homosexuality.toc.html

        I’ve part way through reading it and so far I fully agree with him. He sets God in His rightful place as perfect lawmaker and just King of kings. This provides the basis for our acceptance of the following laws and morale standings we must follow. Obey God and His word over all the world’s ideas, is the principle.

        Would you like more?

        Liked by 1 person

      15. I will read the link, thank you for sending it. I will read it because I always like to look on the other side. I will keep an open mind but I feel like why do we care what they do? There could be Christian gays, how are they turning their heads to God? I will read it and get back to you.

        Like

      16. I read the link, well more like skimmed. I hardly saw proof, only a few Bible quotes. It was mostly this person’s interpretation of the quotes. I believe in Page 29/30, they were talking about gay marriage. I obey God, but I can’t agree with the discrimination of these poor innocent people. It’s their human and civil right to get married whether I agree or not. (Which I do.) I found this quote, ” A June 2014 peer-reviewed University of Melbourne study showed that children raised by same-sex parents score about six percent higher than the general population on measures of general” and also you probably aren’t Catholic but I like this website, http://www.catholicvote.org/five-arguments-for-gay-marriage/.

        Liked by 2 people

      17. The reason we care about what people do with their lives is because we desire them to be saved. The only thing that matters in life is your spiritual status – saved or unsaved – because everything else will pass away. Ultimately it is up to them whether they listen to what we have to say, but we still have to say it, because we are called to love all people. Love is telling someone the truth. Love is helping them even when they hate you. Love is giving someone the directions to the best place for them. Love is Christ. God is love. 1Corinthians 13

        Those Bible quotes are all that this argument should be based upon. Our faith calls for us to stand by the Bible and our God even if the world begins attacking it – especially if the world begins attacking it, in fact! We have to remember that Satan will use all in his power to drive us from God, because Satan doesn’t want souls saved, he wants them locked in Hell with him. So, Satan uses this worlds as a trap for believers and seekers. Keep that in mind always.

        The link you have sent me presents 5 arguments for gay marriage that the world uses. Then each one has been thrown aside as wrong or has a big warning labelled beneath it. This link does not support gay marriage.

        One more thing to do with the link you sent. It’s final point was that opposites attract and that God has made man and woman as the perfect balance for each other. Well, this can be found in Ephesians 5 where the image of marriage is revealed to us. The man is a picture of Christ, and the woman a picture of the Church. This alone tells us that we cannot have two Christ’s or two Churches married to one another, it would be wrong on many levels.

        At this point you may be saying: “But what about their love, does it count for nothing? Have you no heart?” Loving a man as a brother is good, it is wrong if you lust after him. However, this does not mean you can enter into a marriage and never consummate it, that would be disobeying God’s image of marriage. What this means is that if we have lust towards anyone then we have to resist it, just like any other temptation to do wrong.

        Now, as for me having no heart (my own words I know), Ephesians 5 again shows us the way we must treat not only homosexuals but all lost souls. In verse 1 and 2 we are told to: “[1] Be ye therefore followers of God, as dear children; [2] And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweetsmelling savour.”
        This clearly directs us to love all others as Christ did. This is how we are to treat homosexuals and all lost souls. With love and care. Now recall: 1 Corinthians 13:3-8 KJV (charity=love) [3] And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor , and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing. [4] Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, [5] Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; [6] Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth; [7] Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things. [8] Charity never faileth: but whether there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away.

        That is all I will write for now. I think I need to write it all out in a proper post so that it’s more coherent, and so that I can mention the Old Testament passages and Romans 1.
        Sorry for it being so long! I pray that it challenges you and helps you greatly πŸ™‚

        Like

      18. Thank you for your response! Midway in your comment you said, that you have to consummate marriage. Man and Women can both successfully have intercourse with the same gender. In fact, I think it’s not a good tradition for me because I don’t want children. Some people choose not to consummate yet they can be following God’s wishes. My religion may not agree with same-sex marriage but I am not about to go around judging others. They are just peacefully living their lives, why should we attack them? You probably want everyone to love Christians (and maybe convert) so why are you attacking these people who want equality? You may think everything you said whipped around my head but people want to get married for love (maybe children). Just because it originated from heterosexual couples, doesn’t mean we should deny it for others. People are selfish, they want their own child but since gay couples can’t, they adopt. So more gay people will adopt children. I don’t know about you but it warms my heart to see such care. No matter what my religion beliefs, I will not stand in the way of people who don’t judge me for being heterosexual. Thank you for praying for me, I will pray for you. Thank you for trying to teach me, I hope I did something. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      19. Marriage does not have to be consummated. I didn’t mean to say it should be.

        I’ve never attacked a gay person since I was converted and actually have several friends who are all kinds of sexualities. This is nothing to do with my ‘personal’ views, it is about God and His word. We should obey that as Christians.

        I expect no love from the world, that has never been the way for Christian people. In fact, the Bible warns us that if the world accepts us then we should be wary. (Jesus Christ said that by the way).

        Like

      20. Did you tell your friends that you think they are disobeying God, or that you don’t agree? Thank you for your advice, but I have my own views as do you. I really enjoyed hearing the other side and chatting with you.

        Liked by 1 person

      21. I am curious on how they responded? I mean if a gay person used their belief to say that I was wrong or denying (blank), I would be mad. I would probably walk away (probably fuming). πŸ™‚

        Like

      22. They responded with something along the lines of: “Okay.” To their credit they are a rather mellowed individual.

        Well, the world does do this to Christians. They’re doing it with the Big Bang and evolution from non-life to single cells to humans. They do it with going to Church on a Sunday. They do it with Christ’s Deity. These times will only get worse for Christians.

        Liked by 1 person

      23. Actually those who are Atheist usually keep to themselves. I was talking about if a gay person were to say that I was a disgrace. I am not a disgrace, so why are they? That would be my opinion (which I don’t believe in). You are denying your true feelings, you should embrace it. God loves everyone the same, he created you just the way you are. Things are worse for Christians, Gays, Atheists, e.t.c. because we can’t accept them. If our society had equality and loved each other regardless of religion everyone would be happy.

        Liked by 1 person

      24. I was not referring to individuals.

        It is a matter of how we stand before God. I am a disgrace just as they are, but am only saved through the merciful blood of Christ, and they can come to Him too.

        What true feelings?

        He created us one way, and now sin has polluted us and our surrounding world. That was what happened at the fall, at the beginning of creation.

        Society only has peace under God’s blessing, not through mans diplomatic achievement.

        Like

      25. People can’t help but be gay. I am a sinner, they are too. People can have peace without God. And they will always have God’s love. Are your gay friend’s Christians? Maybe they would be if Christians weren’t against them.

        Like

      26. People can’t help but feel a lot of things. Others are tempted with temper, lust, lying, depression, some are tempted by homosexuality. These are all things that people can be predisposed to, but can be resisted.

        Ultimately it is not down to me what the laws of God are. I don’t think you’ve understood this point I’m making. God makes the laws. Not me. God. We should obey God. Being gay is a sin, because God calls it a sin, not because I call it a sin.

        They will become Christians only if God calls them. I was a terrible sinner and my sins weren’t accepted by the Bible, but now I’m a Christian. The same can happen to them, God willing.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Also, you will be a sinner no matter what you do. (According to your belief) so we can’t really change that. I feel that God is with me wherever I go. That is enough for me. I hope you enjoyed my post. I’m glad I got to see your beliefs!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, we are totally depraved. Every aspect of our being is tainted with sin. “None is righteous, no not one.”
        We cannot change it, but God in His power can, and in His mercy will, but only those who come to Him faithfully. This is what the Bible teaches us of our God.

        Like

Comments are closed.