My Love for Languages

When we are kids, most of us dream of unrealistic or superficial jobs. Ballerina, President, Firefighter, etc. Not saying that being president is superficial, but is it realistic? My point is that we don’t really put much thought into why we want these jobs. We just think they’re cool. When I was in 1st grade, I wanted to be a ballerina. When I was in 5th grade, I wanted to be a lawyer. When I was in 8th grade, I wanted to be a property manager. What do I want to be now?

I have a love for languages. Languages fascinate me. They shock me and I admire them for their beauty. I never really paid attention to different languages, and just passed them off as gibberish. But to think that there is a COMPLETELY different way of speaking, actually, more than 100 different ways, it astounds me. Constantly. And that made me realize my passion and love for languages. With languages you can connect to different cultures and people on a deeper level than you can with a translator or electronic device. Learning a different language opens up a whole new door of possibilities in your life. Suddenly you can visit and actually fully enjoy other countries, immerse yourself into their culture, and even LIVE there (if they permit it).

Why was I talking about jobs in the beginning? Because I feel like for the first time in my life, I finally know what I want to do. I want to learn new languages, experience new cultures, and connect with new people. It’s going to be hard to get there, and it’s going to take a lot of patience and hard work, but I want to get there. Do I know what jobs I can have with languages? Not exactly, but what I do know is that I’ll be happy.

I love learning languages. Many people find it a chore, frustrating, etc, but I find it fascinating. I love the sounds, the letters or characters, and how the people speak. And because of this, I know for a fact that I’ll be happy when I grow older. I know that I’ll have a job I enjoy and get excited to wake up and do it every morning. Currently, I am learning Japanese, French, Chinese, Korean, and starting Dutch soon. This may sound like a lot, but I like to work that way. They say that once you learn a language, it’s easier to learn a new one. In my experience this is definitely true.

I might be a translator, linguist, or even work for the FBI. Who knows. I’m excited to see where my love for languages will take me.

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.