From Vegetarian to Vegan

If you remember my post from last year, you would know that I was a vegetarian (that ate fish.) Obviously from the title of this post, a lot has changed since then. I am so happy to share with you that I am vegan! I am going to talk to you about why I did it, what I experienced, what I eat, and how I feel. This post is in no way shaming others if they do not eat the way I eat or trying to make you turn vegan. I just want to simply say that I’ve never felt better and I really want to share it with you.

acai bowl (Here is a photo of this delicious acai bowl that I made. Comment below if you want the recipe!)

Why did I become vegan?

I remember when I finally cut out fish and became a full vegetarian. I actually had thoughts such as “Well, at least I’m not vegan.” or “Well I’ll never be vegan. That’s too extreme.” What I didn’t realize is that I saw veganism as a negative thing. That really hurts me today that a lot of people see veganism as so negative and extreme. No one becomes vegan for one thing. In fact, there are plenty of reasons why I became vegan. I guess I’ll just bullet a few.

  • For the environment. Did you know that vegans save 1,100 gallons of water, 300 acres of rainforest land, and 1 animals life a day? I definitely did not. If you want to know more, DO RESEARCH! You will be surprised at the shocking numbers of how much we are damaging the earth by eating animal products. We eat almost TWO TIMES our ENTIRE human population in animal lives per year. 12 billion animals. That’s insane. Watch Cowspiracy on Netflix and you will see the staggering amounts of meat and animal products that we eat and how it affects our environment. The number one cause of deforestation is animal agriculture. This just pushed me into veganism further.
  • For my health. We all know that cholesterol is bad for you. But did you know that only 1 egg is almost your entire days worth of cholesterol? And that the number 1 cause of death in the U.S. is heart disease, which is caused by the high amounts of cholesterol in meat? America eats a staggering amount of meat. And this is simply not good for us. Many vegans believe that humans were first vegans when we started to roam the earth. When it got harder to find fruits and vegetables, they looked to other animals for ideas. They looked at what carnivores were eating. Do your research if you are interested and you will see how terrible meat truly is.
  • For the animals. Animals are not ours to distribute, buy, sell, exploit, torture, or kill. They want to live just like you do. They feel pain. They feel fear. You can see it in their faces. But we turn a blind eye because this is “natural” this is “what we are used to.” …. It doesn’t have to be like this. We do not need animals to survive. Relying on other animals for protein is actually kind of pathetic. Vegans (with the proper diet) get enough protein, calcium, vitamin D, iron, and b12, contrary to popular beliefs. I love animals to death. I love cows. They are gentle and sweet. Pigs are smarter than dogs. Chickens are friendly and calm. They all have lives. I would never think of harming any of these sweet animals. And the fact that some people take pride in it (trophy hunting or farming) makes me a little sick to my stomach.
  • For logical reasons. We were born with small teeth & small canines. We do not have sharp teeth because we are meant to tear plants, not animals. We have long intestines that represent an herbivores, while a carnivore has short intestines so it can pass through the body quickly without absorbing your body’s water. We were not born with sharp claws or strong muscles like a lion. Also, we are part of the primates category, and as we all know, we have a lot of similarities to chimps, gorillas, and apes. Why is diet the only difference? In fact, we are the only primates that eat meat. All of the other primates are herbivores. Kind of funny, don’t you think? What were we born with though?  We were born with a heart. With logic. And we need to use it to realize that eating meat is more than just food. That meat is an animal.

So after reading some of these, I hope you understand why I am vegan. Feel free to leave your thoughts and questions as I would love to answer them. Remember that I am open to all opinions, no matter how much they differ from mine.

twister wrap native foods

After 1 week of being vegan I started to notice differences. I had INCREDIBLE amounts of energy. I actually have the energy to exercise every day now. When I was vegetarian I wasn’t getting any energy from my food sources. Plants have an amazing amount of energy that can really get your body moving. For the first time in years my acne cleared up. I have tried literally everything from topical treatments, to pills, and nothing worked. Veganism cleared everything. Why? Because I cut out dairy. If you want to know more about dairy and eggs, and honey, you should watch 101 reasons to go vegan on youtube. It’s an amazing lecture.

Lastly, you may be wondering, “What the heck does she eat?!” Well I started off watching tons of videos on Essena Oneill’s channel. There are actually so many vegan youtubers. Anyways, I hope you enjoyed this post and now know a little bit about why I’m vegan.

Maritza

vegan burger nice cream

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.