Being Shallow or Genuine

What is being shallow? Is it only caring about your looks? Only caring about someone else’s looks? Focusing on materialistic things, things you want? Only caring about money and success?

I look back on the only me, and I realize that I was shallow. I only cared about my wants, my looks, and I wouldn’t be friends with anyone if they were considered weird or unattractive. And then I noticed that back then, I was so unhappy. I didn’t really have many friends, I always wanted things like makeup or clothing, and I didn’t TRULY care for others.

I feel like a lot of teenage girls are like this nowadays. They only care about themselves, and friends or family, or what they look like. They care about social media, the newest iPhone, and never look up from their screens. I wish I could break this trend. The overuse of Instagram and Snapchat. It seems like those are their favorite things now. It can effect them negatively too. Seeing picture perfect Instagram girls that look like basic Brandy Melville model copies. Girls that overline their lips to look like someone else. (Kylie Jenner!) This makes me sad. Girls like them don’t truly know who they are, nor will they find out as long as they keep focusing on shallow things. I know this because I used to be one of those girls. I wouldn’t leave the house without makeup, I couldn’t have my natural hair color as it was “boring.” (I’m finally dying it back to my natural color now!) and I had to follow the latest trend in fashion. Because of this, I struggled with my hobbies, and what I really liked. I spent so much time watching Youtube that it was considered my hobby. I got to know the people in the videos more than my own self.

When I finally asked myself, “What do I want to do in life?” I couldn’t come up with a clear answer. I was stuck. What had I been doing so far in my life? Had I wasted my entire teenage life trying to be someone I’m not? Distracting myself with Youtube videos and Netflix so that I was escaping reality?

To be honest, I still don’t know what I want to do. But that’s okay. I’m still young. What I do know for a fact is that I’m no longer going to waste my life on social media, be shallow, or force myself to wear makeup or certain clothing items. I want the freedom to be myself. I don’t want to conform to society’s ideas of beauty because I know now that that is impossible.

I want to be genuine. I want to look back on my life and see that I was real. I wasn’t trying to be another person. The one thing missing in my life was patience and mindfulness. I was never mindful of my surroundings. Without my phone, I didn’t know who I was. I thought this was normal. I now realize that this is inexcusable. Nobody should waste their lives on technology. It won’t help you, nor will it help you.

I must admit, without social media, I probably would’ve never found out about veganism. My life would be drastically different without it. So for that, I am grateful. But I don’t need to live online. I want to experience life for what it is.

I don’t want to be shallow.

IMG_9367

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.