Are Vegans “Atheist Liberals?”

Ever since I became vegan, the words “atheist” and “liberal” were everywhere. I would tell my dad reasons why eating meat was not good for the environment, animals, etc, and he would say, “Where are you getting this liberal propaganda from?” I’m sorry, but since when does being vegan mean you’re a liberal?

I find that insulting to vegans, and liberals as well! Plenty of liberals hate vegans, and plenty of vegans hate liberals! I don’t see the connection here?

To everyone out there that isn’t brainwashed like my father, climate change is real. However, whether or not humans cause the destruction is still being debated. Some say yes, and some say no. I guess this is where my dad is getting the idea of “liberals” from. A lot of liberals believe in climate change, but many don’t as well! You can’t group all vegans into the “liberal” category, or liberals into the vegan category.

Now that I have that cleared up, I would like to get into whether or not vegans are “atheist.” First of all, whoever made up this stereotype is an idiot. PLENTY of Christians are vegan, and in fact, vegans have pretty strong evidence for Christians that show they shouldn’t eat meat, including some bible pages where it hints at the welfare of animals, Adam and Eve were vegan before they sinned, etc. Clearing the air again, NOT ALL VEGANS ARE ATHEIST. In fact, a ton aren’t. Christians are the majority of the population, remember that. I believe in God, and I’m vegan?

So, I just wanted to make this quick post to get rid of this awful and confusing stereotype. If you are vegan and you have heard of this dumb comment before, make sure to comment below. Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

Published by

Maritza's Thoughts

I have always enjoyed the art of writing and language. That is why I decided to start this blog. I write about my thoughts, veganism, and mindfulness. I hope you enjoy my blog.

17 thoughts on “Are Vegans “Atheist Liberals?””

      1. Veganism was the best thing that ever happened to me. (Right behind discovering God) & I am so blessed to have found such an amazing way of life. Veganism in my life shows that I am trying my best to live in every aspect in my life. (Not buying clothing made from animals, ethical farming, no products that test on animals) and it made me believe that I am finally on the animals side. The reason I am no longer vegetarian is because whenever you buy dairy or eggs, you are supporting an industry that does the same thing as meat. They kill the animal for food in the end. Or even when they didn’t get a chance to live. (Male baby chicks are thrown in garbage cans because they serve no purpose to the egg industry). Regarding the self reliance, I do not believe that we should farm and raise animals only to be the one to end their lives in the end. Everyone and everything deserves life. They have just as much right to live as we do. Also, I do not believe that keeping animals for our benefit is morally right. (Since you are religious) God says in the bible that we are meant to treat everything with respect. (Thou shall not kill) and I believe that respect applies to animals. Thank you for your comment.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You’ve obviously thought about this quite a lot, that’s good πŸ™‚
        It’s refreshing to find someone who does think a lot!
        The Bible says we are to be stewards of the earth; you’re right. It’s a clear command, but the Ten Commandments only apply to humans, because otherwise God would never have permitted sacrifices.

        Like

      3. With all due respect, the bible was written by humans. It is still God’s word (according to your belief) but humans wrote the Bible. Also, going vegan goes way beyond religion. Religion (in my opinion) is not a good reason to eat meat. I believe that animals are God’s creation, and we have no right to harm them. We must love them and cherish them because God would want us to. I would highly recommend checking out http://www.jesuspeopleforanimals.com It has a lot of information on why some Christians/Catholics choose to be vegan. I hope you check it out.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes, I completely agree with that. Human hands were used by God to record (not invent) His message to the world. This message is the only one to contain the promise of a Saviour as the only way to God and Heaven. It is unique in this respect, and all the more wonderful and merciful.
        I agree that God wants us to care for His creation, there is no dispute there πŸ™‚
        I’ll take a look right now πŸ™‚

        Like

      5. Well, that’s your belief, and I totally respect that. Mine may differ, but who am I to stop you, especially if you are so great living the way you are? I hope you weren’t offended by my comment. Once again, I was just stating my personal beliefs. I see that you’re trying to spread a positive message, and I am very happy for that, but I am happy the way I am. I feel that we need to start focusing more on animals instead of humans though. Animals have been neglected for too long. The reason we continue to neglect them is because we feel that they aren’t good enough, or that we are better than them. I truly believe that one species can never be “better” than the other. We are all equal. We may think in different ways, and one species may be more “intelligent” than the other, (debateable) but we’ll never truly know what’s truly inside an animal’s mind. We only have theories.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Oh, I’m not great. I’m still a terrible sinner, unworthy of forgiveness, but God has brought me to Himself! How wonderful is that?!

        I’ve not been offended by anything you’ve said πŸ™‚
        I’m very interested in learning about your personal views and your reasoning. It’s a good, mind-widening conversation.

        Not enough has been made of animal conservation in the past. People have hunted beautiful creatures to extinction and it’s awful!

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I believe everyone is worthy of forgiveness. We have flaws of course, because we are the human species, but we are his children and he loves us, no matter what we do. Thank you saying that. I’m glad that you’re open to my beliefs, even if you don’t agree. I hope you consider veganism. Do you have any more questions regarding a vegan lifestyle? I’d love to answer them.

        Liked by 1 person

      8. We are his children, and he does love us. Even those of us who reject him. But I don’t believe anyone is worthy. That’s not what God has said in his word.

        I am considering it. Did you eat meat before you became a vegan? If so, how long for? And how difficult was it to give it up?

        Like

      9. Well, I guess my beliefs differ on this topic. I believe that everyone is worthy of God’s love. God wants everyone to accept his love.
        I ate meat for 15 years of my life. I grew up eating meat. I couldn’t imagine a life without it. I didn’t know it was possible! It was surprisingly not difficult to give up, but I think it’s because of the abundance of meat alternatives that taste EXACTLY like meat. If there is one near you, I would totally recommend Loving Hut or Native Foods Cafe. They are the absolute best vegan restaurants I have ever tried! (and I’ve tried quite a lot) The meat is so realistic it’s actually scary. I also recommend Whole Foods for meat alternatives.

        Liked by 1 person

      10. I agree that he wants everyone to accept his love and come to him, but we don’t deserve it.

        I’m from London, so I don’t know if I’ll be able to find any of them, but I’ll take a look into those and any others that may be English branches of the same company πŸ™‚

        Thanks πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.